June 2012 Meetings Recap

Palm Beach County League of Cities
June 29, 2012

We thank the Town of Jupiter and the Scripps Research Institute for hosting our June meetings, and we appreciate everyone who braved the bad weather to join us. 

We were honored with the presence of 14 of our Past Presidents, who were recognized at the General Membership meeting:

Anita Yount  1976 - 1978                                            Dr. Kenneth Schultz  2001 - 2002

Doak Campbell  1988 - 1989                                   Dr. Carmine Priore  2002 - 2003

Lomax Harrelle  1990 - 1991                                    Bev Smith  2003 - 2004

Tom McCarthy  1994 - 1995                                       Susan Haynie  2005 - 2006

Steven Abrams  1995 - 1996                                     Ken Kaleel  2008 - 2009

Richard Radcliffe  1998 - 1999                                 Isaac Robinson, Jr.  2010 - 2011

Retha Lowe  2000 - 2001                                          Lisa Tropepe  2011 - 2012

Board Meeting  The Board of Directors approved the FY 2013 budget, and the League Committees membership for the next year.  Lake Park Councilmember Steve Hockman was appointed as the League representative on the Leadership Housing Council, and Village of Wellington Councilmember Anne Gerwig was appointed as an alternate on the Treasure Coast Regional Planning Council.  Both appointments were ratified at the General Membership meeting.  There was a status report on the County's proposal to discontinue the $12.50 program, with direction given to staff to continue the League's opposition to the proposal.

Six new Associate memberships were approved: Facility Contract Services, Marine Industries Assoc. of Palm Beach County Inc., David Ramba, Robert S. Weinroth, Esq., Michael Zito, and Dr. Carmine Priore.  Welcome to the League!

General Membership  President Todd Wodraska introduced County Commissioner Karen Marcus, who addressed the membership.  The new Associate members and Past Presidents were introduced.  Our featured speakers were Dr. Dawn Johnson, Director of Scientific Operations for the Scripps Research Institute, and Dr. Ivan Baines, Chief Operations Officer for the Max Planck Institute.  They gave our membership a glimpse at the inner workings of their facilities.  Assistant County Administrator Brad Merriman reported on the county's Points of Distribution in the event of a hurricane