April 2012 Meetings Recap

Thank you to our host cities: Atlantis, Cloud Lake, Glen Ridge, Golf, Gulf Stream, Haverhill, Hypoluxo, Jupiter Inlet Colony, Lake Clarke Shores, Loxahatchee Groves, Manalapan, Ocean Ridge and South Palm Beach.

Board of Directors meeting  Inspector General Sheryl Steckler and Chief of Operations Joe Doucette presented their FY 2013 budget.  Audrey Wolf, Palm Beach County's Director of Facilities Development & Operations, presented the county's proposal to terminate the Moving Traffic Violation Municipal Disbursement Program.  The Board voted unanimously to oppose the proposal, authorizing League Counsel Trela White to coordinate municipal efforts.

Palm Springs Vice Mayor Joni Brinkman was appointed to a regular seat on the Treasure Coast Regional Planning Council, replacing Dr. Carmine Priore.  She had been serving as an alternate.  Boca Raton Deputy Vice Mayor Susan Haynie was recommended to replace William Moss on the Florida League of Cities Board of Directors.  Ms. Haynie and Jupiter Councilor Todd Wodraska were named to the IPARC Executive Committee, replacing Mr. Moss and Dr. Priore.

The members of  last year's IG Budge Delegation were called upon to once again represent the League: Atlantis Mayor Michael Dahlgren; Palm Beach Gardens Vice Mayor Bert Premuroso; Juno Beach Manager Joe LoBello, and Gulf Stream Manager Bill Thrasher.

General Membership meeting  We had an overflow crowd at the Atlantis Country Club.  It was great to meet so many of our newly elected officials, and to catch up with our legislative partners home from Tallahassee.

Scholarship Committee Chair Mo Thornton and President Lisa Tropepe awarded the 2012 William A. Cruickshank scholarships. We were fortunate to have all five recipients in attendance for the occasion.

Roger Amidon, Executive Director of the County's Tourist Development Council, talked about the opportunities available in connection with the final presidential debate, to be hosted in October by Lynn University in Boca Raton.